It Goes Away

I tried to be disciplined tonight, and study my PRINCE2  (PRojects IN Controlled  Environments) foundation coursework, which I have put aside for months but am running out of time to get through before my exam. I tried to shut off distractions and find my old concentration, but while I got through two modules I haven’t retained a single piece of information. I kept finding myself thinking how rigid and pointless it was, in the grand scheme of things, when my mother is dead, violent riots have disrupted London, and many of those I love are going through intensely difficult times. It seemed impossible to sit learning about theoretical profits and structures when there are real, flesh-and-blood people that I care about feeling sorrowful, angry, confused, scared and depressed around the world tonight, and while an email from me may not do a huge amount to alleviate their pain, it might just be a little bit better than nothing. One of the many things my mother taught me is that, in the end, the most important thing in our lives is relationships.

So, tonight I want to send out a message of hope into the bleakness that seems to be surrounding us, even if we cannot find it within ourselves to feel hopeful right now. Dirk sent me these lyrics yesterday, from a song he and my mother used to listen to, and he reflected on the refrain “It goes away; it might take years; or a hundred thousand tears; but one day the sky will clear, it goes away” that ‘I remember Tess saying quite recently “That’s true, you know”.  Well I’m not so sure. Tessa will never go away and the pain will never stop – but the sky will clear; we will go on and we will be happy too.’

 “It Goes Away” – Tom Russell

The young boy scrapes his knee
Or he falls out of a tree
And his Mama hears his screams from far away
She runs to dry his eye
She say’s its O.K to cry
‘Cos everything that hurts will go away
It goes away it might take years
Or a hundred thousand tears
But one day the sky will clear it goes away

Oh the boy’s just turned sixteen
He’s bashful lives in dreams
And his heart breaks when the girls go by his way
He’s chokin’ deep inside
From swallowing false pride
‘Til he remembers that old prayer it goes away
It goes away it might take years
Or a hundred thousand tears
But one day the sky will clear it goes away

The older that we grow
Oh the less we seem to know
But we still recite the old prayers every day
Yeah we hope the bomb won’t drop
And all the wars will stop
And when our heart breaks
That the pain will go away
It goes away, it might take years
Or a hundred thousand tears
But one day the sky will clear it goes away
It goes away, it might take years
Or a hundred thousand tears
But one day the sky will clear, it goes away

After The Rain
4 thoughts on “It Goes Away

Leave a Reply

