Walls

I heard Tom Petty & The Heartbreaker’s ‘Walls (No. 3)‘  on my ipod this morning whilst on the train to work, and the lyrics really moved me. I then stepped off the train at London Bridge, saw a poster for the new film ‘Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy‘ and burst into tears – because my mother will never have the chance to see it, and I will never have the opportunity to discuss it with her. It is often the smallest of triggers that remind me she is gone. She loved John Le Carré’s novels, one of which the film is based upon, and I remember many previous discussions we had over his books, and some of the film adaptations of them, such as The Tailor of Panama and The Constant Gardner.

Here are some lyrical extracts from ‘Walls’:

Some days are diamonds
Some days are rocks
Some doors are open
Some roads are blocked

Sundowns are golden
Then fade away
And if I never do nothing
I’m comin’ back some day, ’cause

You got a heart so big
It could crush this town
And I can’t hold out forever
Even walls fall down

All around your island
There’s a barricade
That keeps out the danger
That holds in the pain

Sometimes you’re happy
Sometimes you cry
Half of me is ocean,
Half of me is sky

Some things are over
Some things go on
Part of me you carry
And part of me is gone

4 thoughts on “Walls

  1. I read this just after fighting back tears over a green malachite bowl that my father would have loved but I’m a few months too late to buy it for him…. feeling for you on those little triggers and fighting through them too..

  2. This reminded me of something very moving that a friend said to me while her mother was dying a few years ago (It was heartbreaking, and I’ve never forgotten it). “It’s just that she’ll miss everyone so much.”

    Sending you kind thoughts as always.

Leave a Reply

