Blueberry Comfort

A year ago, I was regularly emailing recipes and photographs of new dishes tried or created to interested family and friends. It was a creative and fun exercise, which interlinked with a recipe book I was putting together, mostly for my own use. The person who most regularly responded, either to say she had made one of the dishes, or to share some of her own, was my mother. It somehow doesn’t seem the same without her in the world anymore to share this simple joy with, and I still have a folder full of recipes from her that I have yet to try, which has of course become highly treasured over recent months.

I have barely cooked or baked since her death (cupcake art and the occasional loaf of bread aside). My husband has taken over as chef in our household, where the job used to be evenly shared, and I have found that my enthusiasm for the kitchen – which had gradually waned since my return to full-time work following my maternity leave last year – has almost entirely vanished. This afternoon, however, I had some heartbreaking news, which left me feeling sad and helpless, surrounded by the loss and pain of so many of those around me. I wanted to simply stop dead still in the middle of the housework I was engaged in; it all felt so meaningless. I instead surged into action and used the blueberries I had bought to make blueberry pancakes with to make muffins, so I could at least pass on some baked love and a card to one of the many people I care about who is in distress. I am taking it one step further tonight, and once again sharing a recipe with the world (see below).

Today's Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

I have accumulated quite a large number of cupcake and muffin recipe books over the years,  but haven’t found the perfect Blueberry Muffin recipe – so this is a adaptation that I tried today and rather like. 

Ingredients

55g / 2 oz butter
2 eggs
180g sugar
250g / 9 oz plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
110 ml / 4 fl oz milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
250g – 300g blueberries

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 180C / 355 F / gas mark 4.

2. Cream the butter in a large bowl, then beat in the sugar, followed by the eggs.

3. Mix in half the flour and the baking powder (sieved if you so desire, though I seldom do these days!), then the milk, followed by the remaining flour, and beat until smooth.

4. Blend in the vanilla essence, then add the blueberries.

5. Divide the mixture equally into 12 muffin cases in a muffin baking tray.

6. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown. Leave the muffins in the tray until they are cool, then turn out and enjoy.

13 thoughts on “Blueberry Comfort

  1. So very sorry to hear that you had more sadness today, Laurel. I’m sure your creative and heartfelt card was comforting to whomever it was sent.

    I don’t bake much, but would love to try your blueberry muffin recipe and hope to soon.

    Thanks for sharing.

      1. I baked the muffins yesterday and they were scrumptous…very moist and light. First time I baked in a long while and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Too many things to do, but it reminded me that I must always find time for the “ordinary” things that can enrich the soul as much if not more than the “extraordinary.” Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Am sorry to hear that your news was not good. The love you have put into your creation will be felt… Am not one for baking…. but when I saw this picture I could smell them through this lap top! Honestly I could smell the freshly baked muffins…
    Take Care

  3. I have been making meals without Tessa – but so miss her creativity and have been wondering what will ever spark additions to my own limited repertoire. My signature Greek chicken with tomatoes, allspice, cinnamon, and cloves – always so appreciated by Tabby – still works its magic, but how I need new inspiration! I too could smell your blueberry muffins.
    Your loss of desire to cook mirrors my inability o play music in our house. I can for others, but simply cannot put music on for myself, when alone. When that changes I will know that something necessary is happening to me.

    1. Mmmm I would love to taste (and capture the recipe for!) your chicken – it sounds delicious! I will try post more recipes, with time, and hopefully some of them will inspire them. Some of the ones Tessa sent me she hadn’t tried herself yet, so perhaps those will be something new for you to try too. Yes your music thing has been interesting, whereas my impulse there has been the opposite – I have been playing more music than ever. It is so interesting how unique our grieving patterns are, even though the pain is so universal…

  4. Sorry to hear about your heartache over the weekend! Thanks a million for the recipe!

    I am glad that you managed to refocus your despair though, its a good way to channel feelings and hopefully in time that too will help your healing process!

  5. Gorgeous presentation of those muffins. I can see all the love and care you’ve invested. I’m so glad you found, from somewhere, this positive and creative response to these difficult times you are living through. Small gestures such as this can make such a difference, both to ourselves and to those we reach out to.

  6. Isn’t it interesting, the impulse to reach out to others in distress with food? Makes me think of a big fat Greek mama piling on the food to solve any problem. Those do look good!

Leave a Reply

