More loss

One of my husband’s uncles died today. It still feels unreal, a world away, so completely unexpected. This year, so full of death and tragedy, has taught me many lessons, and I am sure the learning is far from over. One of the things I can be grateful for is increased empathy for those who are recently bereaved. I know the process and experience of grieving is entirely unique, and can’t presume to know how his wife, children, siblings, or mother will respond to this loss, but I am confident that I am in a better position then ever before to offer support and understanding, even from another continent.

Tonight, I sit and stare at the screen, thoughts floating through my mind but not translating into coherent phrases. Perhaps tomorrow the words will flow again.

2011. A year of tears and heartache, but a new year only months away now. My heart still needs to hold on to the hope of an easier year to come.

P.s. Just after posting the above, I heard this song for the first time and it seemed to be telling me exactly what I was longing to hear… so I thought I would share some of the lyrics, and the link to a version on YouTube.

Ooh-oo child, things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child, things’ll get brighter
Ooh-oo child, things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child, things’ll be brighter

Some day, yeah
We’ll put it together and we’ll get it all done
Some day
When your head is much lighter
Some day, yeah
We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun
Some day
When the world is much brighter

11 thoughts on “More loss

  1. This is like the universe singing to you (the timing has to be more than a coincidence). I so hope its promised gift of a better year will be delivered to you. Stand with outstretched palms as the new year takes over from the old!

    1. Relentless is a good description. Is your email working properly? More happening that I can’t blog about and would love to discuss! I think it does us good to be cut off from communication for a while sometimes, it lets us engage with our environment in a subtly different way. Your trip looks like it was really amazing!

  2. I’ve heard this lovely song before, Laurel…very simple and soulfully healing. I’m glad, as Becoming Herself said, that the Universe knew what to say to..even better…sing for you at just the right moment. LIfe is always renewing itself…the seasons turn…the light changes…the moon and stars rise in the night as creatively as the sun does in the day. Blessings for healing and a happier time ahead for you and your family.

    1. Your thoughtful and heartfelt comments are always hugely comforting, thank you. I see I have a host of wonderful posts on your blog to catch up on, which is exciting! I shall do some pleasurable perusing on a less exhausted night.

Leave a Reply

