Another day, another cycle, another storm…

Rain, splashing on my arms as I cycle on, deciding to my surprise not to stop and put on the waterproof jacket tied around my waist. I want to feel it on my skin, direct connection, nerve-endings tingling with joyful awakening.

Hail, pinging off my handlebars, bouncing off my knuckles. Tiny balls of ice that draw laughter up from deep within my stomach, bursting forth into the humid afternoon air, enormous and insignificant.

The Thames, whipped by the wind not into a fury but a dance – neither choreographed nor graceful, it seems instead wild and carefree, celebrating the sheer delight of being present in that moment, which for fleeting instants I share.

Sunshine, bathing my skin in luxurious warmth as I leave the storm behind me.

(After having my bicycle stolen two weeks ago, I am overjoyed to be back on the road this week after a wonderful friend lent me a mountain bike. It is amazing how great an impact a small, kind gesture can have)

12 thoughts on “Another day, another cycle, another storm…

  1. I love this. There is something about letting yourself experience the wet and cold elements of weather that can awaken your senses. I live in Hawaii now and miss those moments (but am not complaining). I’ve always said cold, brisk weather reminds you that you’re alive. And the joys of riding a bike are something I can relate to. The wind in your face is a thrill.

    1. I’m so glad you could feel it, hear it, and relate to it. You are absolutely right – cold weather can make us feel the intense joy of living, and it can also make us really appreciate a hot shower, meal or drink! But I think that any weather, in any location, can give us intense joy – whether it is smoothly slipping into the welcoming, warm ocean, or merely appreciating the cool shade on a hot day, even if it is not invigorating in the same way. I will be heading back to sunny South Africa at the end of the year, so I am looking forward to rediscovering the joys of warmer climes!

  2. I’m really pleased to see you can enjoy your ride again, and the way you loved the rain and weather is brilliant. My partner loved the rain, and I’ve a few broken umbrellas to prove it but what can you do. I just say a documentary about Victoria Pendleton. Realy inspring

  3. Lovely, lovely, post, Laurel. Your writing here is excellent-a beautiful experience of physical and emotional freedom as you move on in your life.

    These lines are wonderful:
    ‘The Thames, whipped by the wind not into a fury but a dance – neither choreographed nor graceful, it seems instead wild and carefree, celebrating the sheer delight of being present in that moment, which for fleeting instants I share.’

    and the last, so telling…

    ‘Sunshine, bathing my skin in luxurious warmth as I leave the storm behind me.’

    This is one of my favorite posts of yours … especially because it is so good to ‘see’ you awakening to joy again.

    Blessings and love, Diane XO

Leave a Reply

