Butternut Soup Comfort

To my intermittent bursts of blogging, I am going to add a recipe! I made a new variation on this soup last night – it’s a recipe I love to play with and adapt – and somehow felt like sharing 🙂

Butternut soup

The fairly subtle curry powder, apple and orange rind add a wonderful, warming depth to the flavour of this soup. It’s one of my favourite comfort foods! There are many ways to easily adapt and play with it, such as adding peeled & chopped sweet potatoes to the pan along with the butternut (though this dulls the brilliant orange colour somewhat), or throwing some whole butter beans into the pureed soup at the end to play with textures as well as flavours. I tend to use less milk these days, and 1 large butternut is much less work to prepare than two medium ones! I use slightly less curry powder when cooking for the kids, and just add a bit of freshly-ground black pepper to my own bowl to spice it up a little. My boys love dipping toast and butter ‘soldiers’ into their soup 🙂

Ingredients
1 large or 2 medium butternuts
1 apple
2 onions
50g (4 Tbsp) butter
7ml (1 ¼ tsp) medium curry powder
40g (4 Tbsp) flour
2 tsp finely grated orange rind
7ml (1 ½ tsp) salt
750ml (3 c) boiling water
500ml (2 c) milk
2 chicken stock cubes

Method
1. Peel, seed and dice the butternuts. Peel, core and chop the apple. Peel the onions and chop roughly. In a large saucepan, sauté the onions in the butter. Add the curry powder and fry the mixture lightly. Add the butternut and apple and sauté the mixture for a while. Add the flour and orange rind and stir-fry lightly.

2. Dissolve the chicken stock cubes in the boiling water. Add the stock, together with the milk and salt, to the butternut mixture. Boil, with the lid on, over moderate heat until the butternut pieces are soft. Stir occasionally. Puree or blend until smooth. The colour of the soup should be a deep yellow and the texture creamy. Serve hot!

3. You can get creative with garnishes: a teaspoon of cream if you’re feeling indulgent, a little finely chopped parsley or coriander, or a few shreds of orange rind.

4. Most importantly – enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Butternut Soup Comfort

  1. Oh this looks and sounds gorgeous Laurel! I will definitely have a go; I will need help with the chopping but can manage the rest.

    My enthusiam for cooking and baking has returned after about 18 months of being in shock re the MS diagnosis. I think I gave up. Its strange, but although the condition has progressed and physical ability is even more restricted, my emotional state has altered in a positive way and I am consequently doing more in the kitchen. It is much more laboured these days and I cant cook every day but I am at least having a go. And apart from the pain and difficulty moving I am actually enjoying it and reaping the benefits, eating something I have cooked; that’s a big achievement 😊 xx

    I look forward to more recipes! Yum!

Leave a Reply

