The Hatching of Something New

I am not one for New Year’s Resolutions. In fact, I can’t remember when I last made one, or even recall a single one I may once have made, perhaps as a teenager. A positive effective of this is that I don’t have a list of resolutions I have failed to keep in the past, so I feel like I have a clean slate to begin with – not that it’s ever too late to recommit to a previously failed intention, and as Nelson Mandela said, ‘“Do not judge me by my successes, judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.”

However, a series of events and circumstances have led me, in the final days of 2013, to decide to embark on something of an experiment in 2014, which is going to involve quite a large number of resolutions! I haven’t decided on a name for it yet… or if it needs one… so we’ll see how that goes 🙂

Following an intense few months of self-reflection, I recently worked on a process with my doctor trying to identify what I want in my life, why I want it, and how I plan to go about achieving it. The first two steps of that process work looked like this:

The results I want to achieve are:

•           A strong and healthy body.

•           A robust immune system.

•           Balance.

•           Vitality.

I want these things because I want to…

•           Embrace life.

•           Feel grounded.

•           Be ready to take on what I choose to with all my heart.

•           Be free from fear.

•           Feel safe, rather than lost.

•           Feel connected to and be supportive of myself.

•           Have a happy, healed Inner Child.

•           Enjoy playing with my children, and model the possibilities of fun.

•           Have a greater sense of peace.

•           Possess a clear sense of integrity.

•           Have a clear purpose and direction in all areas of my life.

•           Feel whole.

I’m working on the ‘how’ at the moment, which is what my 2014 ‘resolutions’ are all about, and plan to break it up into specific focus areas over the coming 12 months, so there is a lot more to come from me soon! Two of the books currently guiding my thinking are ‘The Talking Stick’, by Andrew Pike, which I am only on page 35 of but am finding useful and inspiring, and ‘The Happiness Project’, by Gretchen Rubin, which I picked up for the first time last night, and have only read the first chapter of. The third book I am currently reading is Nelson Mandela’s ‘A Long Walk to Freedom’, and it is interesting that as a dedicated reader of fiction, and a complete avoider of anything resembling a self-help book, I am currently reading an autobiography, and two books about leading a more introspective, focused and purposeful life. I suppose it’s a time of change in many ways, for a multitude of reasons.

I want to leave you tonight with one of the many songs that have been helping through some challenging times over the past few months: ‘On Top of the World’ by Imagine Dragons:

“If you love somebody

Better tell them while they’re here ’cause

They just may run away from you

You’ll never know quite when, well

Then again it just depends on

How long of time is left for you

I’ve had the highest mountains

I’ve had the deepest rivers

You can have it all but life keeps moving

I take it in but don’t look down

‘Cause I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

Waiting on this for a while now

Paying my dues to the dirt

I’ve been waiting to smile, ‘ay

Been holding it in for a while, ‘ay

Take you with me if I can

Been dreaming of this since a child

I’m on top of the world.

I’ve tried to cut these corners

Try to take the easy way out

I kept on falling short of something

I coulda gave up then but

Then again I couldn’t have ’cause

I’ve travelled all this way for something

I take it in but don’t look down

‘Cause I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

Waiting on this for a while now

Paying my dues to the dirt

I’ve been waiting to smile, ‘ay

Been holding it in for a while, ‘ay

Take you with me if I can

Been dreaming of this since a child

I’m on top of the world.

‘Cause I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

Waiting on this for a while now

Paying my dues to the dirt

I’ve been waiting to smile, ‘ay

Been holding it in for a while, ‘ay

Take you with me if I can

Been dreaming of this since a child

And I know it’s hard when you’re falling down

And it’s a long way up when you hit the ground

Get up now, get up, get up now.

‘Cause I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

I’m on top of the world, ‘ay

Waiting on this for a while now

Paying my dues to the dirt

I’ve been waiting to smile, ‘ay

Been holding it in for a while, ‘ay

Take you with me if I can

Been dreaming of this since a child

I’m on top of the world.”

5 thoughts on “The Hatching of Something New

  1. Hi Laurel, its so good to see tou again.

    And you have a plan which is great. I truly hope you make your way steadily toward feeling whole. It is something I felt I had finally achieved a few years ago, until illness semed to rip it away. I am now starting over.

    I wish you peace and contentment in the year ahead.

    Love
    xxx

    1. It’s wonderful to be back, and connected to my old WordPress companions! I trust you know that I still thoroughly enjoy each of your wonderful poems as they land in my inbox, even though I have been so silent during this past year.

      I found myself feeling initially disheartened and later encouraged by your comment – I am so sorry to hear that after finally feeling as if you had achieved that sense of wholeness, everything became destabilised again: but I also know the task is never completed only once, and the growth I have seen within you during the brief years I have known you are inspiring. I am sure the first work set you in good stead for this next phase, and new set of challenges.

      Sending enormous love back xxx

      1. What a lovely reply Laurel, thank you. You are so right that the initial work has stood me in good stead for this new round of challenges. In fact without having to work so hard before who knows, I may not have faced this present challenge anywhere nearly as well as I think I have, so far anyway. As you so rightly say the task is never completed only once.

        Thank you for your friendship and understanding. It means so much. I look forward to reading more from you this year! 😊 xxx

  2. I couldn’t ne more pleased than I was to see you had drifted past my Blog and ‘Liked’ a couple of my posts. I’m a pedestrian old chap and when I get attached to a Blog or Blogger that tends to stay with me: hence my smile when I saw you had been around. Reading any words by Nelson Mandala has to be inspiring, and you have reminded me that I should do the same. On a small note. I am having a book published at the end of Jan or early Feb, which is a milestone for me. Wishing 2014 is everything you want it to be

    1. Oh Peter, a book, how exciting! I can’t believe how many of my wonderful, long-standing WordPress friends have been publishing in the past year. I hope you will point me in the right direction to get my hands on a copy 🙂

      Thank you for your steadfast support, and never giving up on me when I have vanished for months at a time. The attachment is entirely mutual!

Leave a Reply

