Comfort Music

Climbing into the car this morning on a rainy day, struggling with pain, confusion, fear, hopelessness and sorrow, the second song to play was one that reminds me of days long past, feeling close, safe and loved by my wonderful father. He and I share a love for music, and spent many an hour of travelling adventure listening to tapes in the car when I was a child; we also, at different times in our lives, shared a love for The Beatles. Moreover, my second name is Martha, and he is the only person I can remember using the name (along with my third name, June): always affectionately. The song lifted my spirits a little, whilst simultaneously bringing tears to my eyes, and seemed an appropriate thing to share today:

‘Martha my dear
Though I spend my days in conversation
Please remember me
Martha my love don’t forget me
Martha my dear

Hold your head up you silly girl
Look what you’ve done
When you find yourself in the thick of it
Help yourself to a bit of what is all around you

Silly girl take a good look around you
Take a good look you’re bound to see
That you and me were meant to be
For each other silly girl

Hold your hand out you silly girl
See what you’ve done
When you find yourself in the thick of it
Help yourself to a bit of what is all around you
You silly girl

Martha my dear
You have always been my inspiration
Please be good to me
Martha my love don’t forget me
Martha my dear’

3 thoughts on “Comfort Music

Leave a Reply

