Another Day, Another Dawn

I have two things to share today: the first, a photograph from this morning’s sunrise, enjoyed once again from my new favourite yoga tree-stump. I hope you enjoy the beauty of it, and pause to take a deep breath and marvel at the wonderful world we are lucky enough to live in; and then another, remembering to be grateful for life, just as it is.

Another dawn

The second, an evocative poem entitled ‘Dawn’, by Mark R Slaughter

Dawn blushed – betrayed her waking sky
To gently break another morrow fine.
Night waned – the black receding – highland
Reaching for the early morning wine.

The chorus rendered frantic caws and
Chirps and other avian song,
Mapping out the ‘mine and yours’, and
Goading more to sing along!

Quiescent water – deep of lake –
Reflected out the hazy red, but
Through the glass, a flick, a break:
An urgent tail from hidden bed!

And in the meadow, waking faces
Calmly spread a coloured veil;
The dew disclosing spider laces –
Oft with once a fly’s travail!

Dawn blushed; revealed her inner peace;
She handed on another blissful day.
Night ebbed, relenting to release of
Warming blood that gives to her display.

3 thoughts on “Another Day, Another Dawn

  1. Lovely poem Laurel, and beautiful photo and thoughts from you. What jumped right out at me was your phrase “…grateful for life, just as it is”. That is where I feel I have arrived, for today at least. Despite my debilitating condition I joined a class for horse riding for disabled this week and had my first lesson! It was amazing. And I also joined a local writing group and had my first session today.i feel like a new woman. Life is what it is but I can make it better for myself. I am truly grateful to be able to enjoy those sunrises and sunsets.

    Lots of love
    xxx

    1. Oh WELL DONE Christine! That is simply fantastic!!!! You remain an inspiration, and I am so utterly delighted that you are finding – creating, choosing, grabbing – such positive, joyful experiences in 2014!

Leave a Reply

