100 Days of Visual Gratitude (better known as #100happydays)

I naturally don’t have time to take on anything new in my manic life, but when I finally got around to looking up what these #100happydays posts on facebook were all about, some of the first words on the website are:

“You don’t have time for this, right?

We live in times when super-busy schedules have become something to boast about. While the speed of life increases, there is less and less time to enjoy the moment that you are in.”

Of course, a slow smile of self-recognition crept onto my face at that point.

To me, this project is really about appreciation – or gratitude, which I have been writing so much about recently! It’s not about taking the time to be happy, but taking the time to NOTICE when you are happy, reflect on what it is that brings increased happiness into your life, and draw yourself more fully into the moment rather than letting it sail swiftly by, unacknowledged. It also ties very neatly into my current focus on gratitude and my love of photography, and I really appreciate the focus on YOUR OWN happiness: this isn’t about boasting or competing, merely enriching your own experience of life, and sharing that with others.

I am also delighted that one of my very favourite bloggers, Christine of Journey Into Poetry,  who has also become a faithful friend over the past few years, started the challenge on facebook yesterday, so we can encourage each other through it!

I am not going be blogging all of my #100happydays, but rather posting them to facebook, and sharing them here when I wish to. I have also been toying recently with updating my ‘Upbeat’ song playlist to the songs that currently lift my mood, no matter how I am feeling, so I have set myself a ‘#100happysongs’ project: please do send me your current favourites! (and yes, before you ask, I do indeed have Pharrell Williams’ ‘Happy’ on the list already 😉 )

So, my first #100happydays post today was of my two boys, after they decided to get creative with Easter bunny hats this morning:

Easter Bunnies

Two other moments that made me smile in appreciation, and I managed to capture on my phone, were the storm clouds above Hillcrest just as the first heavy rain-drops began to fall, breaking through the heavy heat of the day,

Storm-swirls

and our rain-smudged view of the road home in the midst of the storm, as the boys and I laughed at the deluge and played guessing-games as to where the next flash of lightning would appear.

Rain-washed

The song that especially lifted my heart this morning is an old favourite from my childhood from my most beloved supergroup, the Traveling Wilburys.

End Of The Line Lyrics:

Well it’s all right, riding around in the breeze

Well it’s all right, if you live the life you please

Well it’s all right, doing the best you can

Well it’s all right, as long as you lend a hand

You can sit around and wait for the phone to ring

Waiting for someone to tell you everything

Sit around and wonder what tomorrow will bring

Maybe a diamond ring

Well it’s all right, even if they say you’re wrong

Well it’s all right, sometimes you gotta be strong

Well it’s all right, as long as you got somewhere to lay

Well it’s all right, everyday is judgement day (I’ve always heard this as ‘every day is just one day’ for some reason, which I prefer!)

Maybe somewhere down the road aways

You’ll think of me, and wonder where I am these days

Maybe somewhere down the road when somebody plays

Purple haze

Well it’s all right, even when push comes to shove

Well it’s all right, if you got someone to love

Well it’s all right, everything’ll work out fine

Well it’s all right, we’re going to the end of the line

Don’t have to be ashamed of the car I drive

I’m just glad to be here, happy to be alive

It don’t matter if you’re by my side

I’m satisfied

Well it’s all right, even if you’re old and grey

Well it’s all right, you still got something to say

Well it’s all right, remember to live and let live

Well it’s all right, the best you can do is forgive

5 thoughts on “100 Days of Visual Gratitude (better known as #100happydays)

  1. What a fabulous post Laurel!! You took the words out of my mouth too, because when I started this challenge I decided that for myself I would quietly say its 100 grateful days.

    And this is so weird! I haven’t played The Travelling Wilburys for a year or more and yesterday in the car my husband decided to play this very track! 😊😊 Im hooked all over again! So thank you for the visual too, I really enjoyed it.

    Enjoy your gratitude challenge. You have two gorgeous boys! They are reason enough!

    Lots of love xxx

Leave a Reply

