100 Happy Songs Project Complete!

I did it! I finally finished my 100 Happy Songs playlist, despite a few of life’s little disruptions – and my own distractions – along the way. I’ve become more accepting of the fact that due to my tendency to take on far more projects then I can really juggle at a time, and my enjoyment of the process as much as (if not more than) the outcome, I spread my energy somewhat thinly between them and can take much longer than anticipated to complete them. However, I still take great delight in moving back to them intermittently, getting fresh bursts of enthusiasm, and always feel gratified – if a little sad, too – once they are complete.

Thank you to all those who helped out along the way – yours songs are included where ever I could find them!

As for the original inspiration, #100happydays, it’s also had a few interruptions along the way but I’m up to 83 photographs and adding more (almost) every day. I have to admit, I’m now dreading it coming to an end – it’s been a lovely daily reflection of gratitude.

9 thoughts on “100 Happy Songs Project Complete!

  1. thanks so much for the inspiration Laurel. I’d like to contribute A DOZEN OR SO… of my favorite happy songs :

    Heartbeat by The Hollies
    Oh My My by Jill Barber
    Darlin’ by Johnny Reid
    The littlest birds by the Be Good Tanyas
    Im Your Man by Michael Buble
    Calling All Angels by Jane Siberry
    Man of the Hour by Norah Jones
    I Don’t Want to Play in Your Yard by Maureen Hegarty
    Arms of a Woman by Amos Lee
    Rehab by Amy Winehouse
    Fields of Gold by Eva Cassidy
    Night Bird by Eva Cassidy
    IT’s a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong

    1. Oh lovely, thank you! Many of those I don’t know, and will look up tonight – I LOVE discovering new music! I must say I enjoy the richness of the original of Leonard Cohen’s ‘I’m Your Man’ too much to really appreciate the much lighter, up-beat Michael Buble version… and how could I have missed off ‘It’s a Wonderful World’?!

  2. Well done! Can’t say I’m much good a completing projects like that. Even 5 days of gratitude was a struggle!

  3. I love “Our Day Will Come” but I’m not too keen on the reggae, which I think takes some of the sense of whimsy from the original, but that is the joy of music and everything. One man’s pleasure is another man migraine, and so forth, and we should all be brave enough to like what we like regardless of what bores like me think, so power to your gramophone 🙂

    1. Ah, Peter, thank you for sharing your opinion, whilst giving me the space to smile and agree that our tastes should indeed be true to ourselves, and that does not negate being respectful of others. One thing you never appear to be, certainly within your writing, is a bore! Hugs flying over to you in England x

  4. A great achievement Laurel! And you’re almost there with #100happydays too! I thoroughly enjoyed this particular project and, yes, it is a little sad to arrive at the end. But Im sure new projects are on the horizon for us both! 😊 x

    1. Haha, of course you’re right Christine, there are plenty of new things to keep us busy – I suppose it’s like the sorrow of finishing an excellent book, and having to say goodbye to the characters that have become like friends…. and then the joy of meeting news ones in the next book!

Leave a Reply

