Song of Myself (from Walt Whitman’s ‘Leaves of Grass’)

Trawling through my old poetry file, I stumbled across these deeply familiar yet long-forgotten words, which as a teenager I knew by heart:

“I exist as I am, that is enough.
If no other in the world be aware,
I sit content.
If each and all be aware, I sit content…

I dote on myself; there is that lot of me
All so luscious
Each moment and whatever happens
Thrills me with joy.
I cannot tell how my ankle bends
Nor whence the cause of the friendship
That I take again.”

7 thoughts on “Song of Myself (from Walt Whitman’s ‘Leaves of Grass’)

    1. And thank you for sharing that, and connecting. Love books, love reviews, love discovering new delightful literary adventures, so yay! Blog followed 🙂 Just finished three books this week and looking for something fresh – I think 10:04 might just be next on my list!

Leave a Reply

