My Mother’s Hands (audio)

On the eve of the fourth anniversary of my mother’s death, I have recorded a reading of a poem I wrote and posted on the 11th August, 2011. I was deeply moved once again reading all the comments on the original post, and I wish to thank to everyone who has shared or supported me on the journey of learning to engage with life without my mother. You can listen to my reading here.

Her hands, strong and articulate,
Drawing air-pictures
Whilst describing new perspectives.

Digging earth to bring its bounty forth,
Or climbing rock –
She touched the world, and so it touched her back.

Her hands that bathed my newborn flesh;
They wiped my tears,
And across distance wrote to soothe my fears.

Those hands turned cold, then turned to flame, then dust.
Yet in my heart, her hands will always be:
Memories wrapped forever around me.

Laurel and Tess Strawberries
Mom feeding me strawberries in the Burger Street house kitchen
3 thoughts on “My Mother’s Hands (audio)

  1. My dear Laurel

    We will listen to your poem this evening as we gather for Tessa. Wishing you were here ­ you who were ever part of her and are thus now ever part of me.

    There is another lovely Greg Brown line in his song ELLA MAE: Š We all come back to see you You hugged us all in turn Cocked you head and said we’d grown And touched us with your hands That smelled like bread

    How much Tessa’s hands smelled of bread and earth and life

    Extra special love to you all today.

    dirk

    From: Laurel’s Reflections Reply-To: Laurel’s Reflections Date: Saturday 30 May 2015 8:17 PM To: Dirk Subject: [New post] My Mother¹s Hands (audio)

    WordPress.com Laurel’s Reflections posted: “On the eve of the fourth anniversary of my mother¹s death, I have recorded a reading of a poem I wrote and posted on the 11th August, 2011. I was deeply moved once again reading all the comments on the original post, and I wish to thank to everyone who ha”

    1. Oh, Dirk, how lovely to know I shall be there with you in voice as well as spirit! I do love that song of his too…. thank you for reminding me of those evocative lines. Much love to you all xx

  2. Such a beautiful poem, and to hear you read it, even more so. You have come a long way, but still linger, not so much in the moments of tragedy and sorrow, but of the living and loving and joy that you and your mother shared. Sending lots of love. XO ❤

Leave a Reply

