All I Ask Of You

One of my mother’s sisters gave me some unexpected gifts this evening: a beautiful jacket, and two songs, one of which touched deep layers of sorrow and gratitude that needed tears tonight. She also gifted me loving arms to hold me.

Expressing the sense of relief these moments of falling softly, lightly, gently into the comfort of the pure loss still proves elusive to me. Moments when everything falls away and my chest feels tight with love for my mother – love and missing and appreciation and memories, and countless other elusive shifts and swirls of emotion far too subtle for me to translate or shrink into words. Emotions which feel best expressed with sound, colour and poetry.

 

 

Leave a Reply

